Software-defined object memory with excellent options

Secure protection and instant retrieval of your data without complex storage management

In addition to SDS convenience via classic block storage with SANsymphony and file storage with vFilo, DataCore also offers a platform designed for object storage called Swarm. The intelligent software creates space so that your cold data doesn’t overload the fast storage systems, saving you a lot of money.

  • Scalable platform on any x86 hardware
  • Automated storage and infrastructure management down to the PB level
  • Web-based user interface and API for managing billions of files
  • Extensible architecture with support for Amazon S3 API and other third-party APIs
  • Effective algorithms eliminate the need for backups of Swarm data

Protection for important content

Under Swarm, you can redundantly back up your data using replication or erasure coding , depending on your protection needs. This can be achieved at one or at several locations. In doing so, the private cloud solution focuses on speedy data recovery so you can access your files without interruption.

Of course, this data is also protected by AES-256 encryption. Even compliance features such as WORM, Integrity Seals and Legal Hold are already integrated in Swarm.

Simple and flexible scaling

For Swarm installation it is sufficient to hang the server via PXE boot(Preboot Execution Environment) in the network. The software brings the operating system and all necessary services directly. It also runs resource-efficiently in RAM and keeps the majority of all available HDD and SSD capacities free for the data to be stored.

Swarm works on any standard hardware or disk size and is also equipped for high availability. The software supports both hot-plug drives and adding and removing disks or even entire servers from the network.

For example, if a server is to be replaced, it is sufficient to declare it as“Retire“. Swarm gradually moves the data from the machine being retired to other systems in the cluster automatically. This allows the administrator to replace an aging server in a timely manner.

In addition, Swarm enables an uninterrupted rolling upgrade of the complete software stack. Thanks to flexible operation, you can even add mandates and locations at any time.

Storage, clients and content easily managed

Through the native HTTP 1.1-based interface, Swarm provides access to the Amazon S3 API. This gives you a foundation for new storage services. The intuitive content portal allows you to access your files from anywhere via S3/HTTP. So you can share, stream and edit documents at will.

Swarm supports data access via NFS through the included SwarmFS interface. Or use Swarm as secondary storage to offload data to Swarm via SMB from Windows Server, NetApp, or Dell EMC Isilon using DataCore FileFly.

Software Defined Storage Datacore VDI

24/7 support via DataCore – serviced by Starline

We supply everything you need for a Swarm object store and will be there whenever you need us. Starline support is available five days a week for eight hours, and DataCore itself even supports you around the clock on the software side.

SWARM
Sample installation: Swarm supports video streaming and video-on-demand (VOD) workflows

INQUIRY for DATACORE SWARM SOLUTION

Interested in Software Defined Storage?

Powerful SDS solutions for block, file and object storage from professionals

your benefits

Starline has stood for quality in the storage sector since 1982. We are at your side with our decades of experience in data storage and server systems.

Icon users

Personal Contact Person

At Starline, you have a personal and fixed contact person who takes care of you.

Icon tool

Comprehensive Project Support

Starline assists from the planning stage through to the implementation of the system.

Icon users

High Availability

Sales: You can reach us weekdays from 7:30 am to 5:00 pm (Fridays 4:30 pm). Support: Assistance from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Fridays 4:30 p.m.)

Icon lkw

Quick Delivery Capability

The shipment goes out immediately after the order is placed. The fast Starline production assembles servers and storage systems in no time.

Icon star

Highly Experienced

Starline has been active in the sector since 1982 and is a specialist in all aspects of data storage.

Icon check

Highly Competent

Experienced and trained technicians provide performance and functional checks and offer rapid assistance in the case of a failure.

Starline contact

Any questions? Please contact us.

In 2018, Bernd Widmaier celebrated his 25th anniversary with Starline. With great experience and broad knowledge – combined with high customer orientation – he heads our sales team. However, he also contributes plenty to sales himself and frequently represents Starline externally at events. The VFB fan has an excellent knowledge of various vertical markets, such as Mac, video storage and media streaming, which earns him the exhibition booth support at the IBC in Amsterdam every year.

Softwaredefinierter Objektspeicher mit exzellenten Optionen

Sicherer Schutz und sofortige Abrufbarkeit Ihrer Daten ohne aufwendiges Speichermanagement

DataCore bietet neben dem SDS-Komfort über die klassischen Blockspeicher mit SANsymphony und File-Storage mit vFilo auch eine auf Objektspeicherung ausgelegte Plattform namens Swarm. Die intelligente Software schafft Platz, damit Ihre kalten Daten nicht die schnellen Storage-Systeme überfrachten und spart dadurch jede Menge Geld ein.

  • Skalierbare Plattform auf beliebiger x86-Hardware
  • Automatisiertes Speicher- und Infrastrukturmanagement bis in die PB-Ebene
  • Webbasierte Benutzerschnittstelle sowie API zur Verwaltung von Milliarden Dateien
  • Erweiterungsfähige Architektur mit Unterstützung von Amazon S3 API und anderen Dritt-APIs
  • Effektive Algorithmen machen Backups der Swarm-Daten überflüssig

Schutz für wichtige Inhalte

Unter Swarm können Sie Ihre Daten je nach Schutzbedürfnis durch Replikation oder Erasure Coding redundant sichern. Das gelingt sowohl an einem oder an mehreren Standorten. Dabei fokussiert sich die Private-Cloud-Lösung auf eine zügige Datenwiederherstellung, damit Sie unterbrechungsfrei auf Ihre Dateien zugreifen können.

Selbstverständlich sind auch diese Daten durch AES-256 Verschlüsselung geschützt. Sogar Compliance Features wie etwa WORM, Integrity Seals und Legal Hold sind in Swarm bereits integriert.

Einfache und flexible Skalierung

Für Swarm-Installation genügt es den Server per PXE-Boot (Preboot Execution Environment) ins Netzwerk zu hängen. Die Software bringt das Betriebssystem und alle erforderlichen Dienste direkt mit. Zudem läuft sie ressourcenschonend im RAM und hält den Großteil aller verfügbaren HDD- und SSD-Kapazitäten für die zu speichernden Daten frei.

Swarm arbeitet auf jeder Standardhardware oder Festplattengröße und ist zudem für Hochverfügbarkeit gerüstet. Die Software unterstützt sowohl Hot-Plug-Laufwerke sowie das Hinzufügen als auch das Entfernen von Datenträgern oder gar ganzen Servern aus dem Netzwerk.

Wenn beispielsweise ein Server ausgetauscht werden soll, genügt es ihn als „Retire“ zu deklarieren. Die Daten der auszumusternden Maschine zieht Swarm nach und nach auf andere Systeme im Cluster automatisch um. So kann der Administrator einen betagten Server zeitig ersetzen.

Außerdem gelingt mit Swarm ein unterbrechungsfreies rollierendes Upgrade des kompletten Software-Stacks. Dank des flexiblen Betriebs können Sie sogar jederzeit Mandaten und Standorte hinzufügen.

Speicher, Mandanten und Content einfach verwaltet

Über die native HTTP 1.1-basierte Schnittstelle bietet Swarm Zugriff auf die Amazon S3 API. So erhalten Sie eine Grundlage für neue Speicherdienste. Das intuitive Content-Portal ermöglicht es Ihnen per S3/HTTP von überall aus Ihre Dateien abzurufen. Sie können also nach Belieben Dokumente teilen, streamen und bearbeiten.

Swarm unterstützt dazu den Datenzugriff über NFS durch die enthaltene SwarmFS-Schnittstelle. Oder Sie nutzen Swarm als Sekundärspeicher, um Daten über SMB aus Windows Server, NetApp oder Dell EMC Isilon per DataCore FileFly in Swarm auszulagern.

Software Defined Storage Datacore VDI

24/7-Support über DataCore – betreut durch Starline

Wir liefern Ihnen alles was Sie für einen Swarm-Objektspeicher benötigen und sind für Sie da, wenn Sie uns brauchen sollten. Der Starline-Support steht Ihnen an fünf Tagen in der Woche für acht Stunden bereit und DataCore selbst betreut Sie auf der Software-Seite sogar rund um die Uhr.

SWARM
Beispielinstallation: Swarm unterstützt Video-Streaming und Video-on-Demand (VOD)-Workflows

ANFRAGE zur DATACORE SWARM LÖSUNG

Interesse an Software Defined Storage?

Leistungsfähige SDS-Lösungen für Block-, File- und Objektspeicher vom Profi

Ihre Vorteile

Starline steht seit 1982 für Qualität im Storage-Bereich. Wir stehen Ihnen mit unserer jahrzehntelangen Erfahrung mit Datenspeicher- und Server-Systemen zur Seite.

Icon users

Fester Ansprechpartner

Sie haben bei Starline einen persönlichen und festen Ansprechpartner, der sich um Sie kümmert.

Icon users

Hohe Erreichbarkeit

Vertrieb: Sie erreichen uns werktäglich von 7:30 Uhr bis 17:00 Uhr (Freitags 16:30 Uhr). Support: Hilfestellung von 8:30 bis 17:00 Uhr (Freitags 16:30 Uhr)

Icon check

Hohe Kompetenz

Erfahrene und geschulte Techniker führen Leistungs- und Funktionschecks durch und bieten schnelle Hilfe im Fehlerfall.

Icon tool

Umfassende Projektbegleitung

Starline hilft angefangen bei der Planung über die Umsetzung bis hin zur Implementierung des Systems.

Icon star

Viel Erfahrung

Starline ist seit 1982 in der Branche tätig und beherrscht alle Spielarten rund um das Thema Storage.

Icon lkw

Schnelle Lieferfähigkeit

Die Ware geht umgehend nach der Bestellung raus. Die schnelle Starline-Produktion assembliert Server und Storage-Systeme im Nu.

Starline Kontakt

Noch Fragen? Kontaktieren Sie uns.

Der erfahrene Vertriebsmann bringt als Projektmanager im Enterprise Storage Solutions Team großes Wissen im Bereich DataCore, VMware, Open-E, StorMagic und Ambedded mit. Schließlich ist das fürs tägliche Geschäft in der Business Unit notwendig, um umfangreiche Großprojekte bewältigen zu können. Zudem steht er auf Messen, Workshops oder Herstellerveranstaltungen für Starline stets mit seinem technischen Know-How bereit. Er hält sich privat mit Handball fit und zockt auch gerne mal im Senioren-Team an der Playstation.

Thomas Heigl
Vertrieb