NAKIVO Backup & Replication – Protect VMs, Servers, NAS and Cloud well

The all-purpose tool for data backup

The inexpensive software package NAKIVO Backup & Replication with its image-based operation as well as the application-oriented and incremental backups is recommended for all important application scenarios. Not only does the NAKIVO suite capture all VM data, it also ensures the consistency of applications and databases running in the VMs.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication can be installed on a virtual machine as well as on a physical server or NAS device. The solution is designed to make the best use of computing resources in terms of CPU power and RAM capacity to deliver the highest performance.

  • Virtual machines
    VMware vSphere, Microsoft Hyper-V, Nutanix AHV
  • Physical Servers and workstations
    Windows & Linux
  • Cloud & SaaS
    AWS EC2, Microsoft Office 365
  • NAS-based applications
    for QNAP, Synology, ASUSTOR, TrueNAS, NETGEAR, Raspberry Pi and Western Digital

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Flexible Settings

NAKIVO Backup & Replication provides a full range of protections for virtual environments that combine to provide truly effective protection for critical data: Native change tracking technologies, such as VMware CBT or Hyper-V RCT, immediately identify changed data. Therefore, only changed blocks are copied to the backup repository. Nevertheless, up to 1,000 restore points can be created for each VM backup, which rotate on a daily, weekly, monthly and yearly basis.

In addition, NAKIVO creates backup copies offsite and in the cloud upon request. After all, VM backups can also become corrupted, accidentally deleted, or simply unavailable. Backup Copy Jobs can be used to additionally secure these backups. The administrator can use the user interface to run a backup copy on a custom schedule, send it to an Azure/AWS cloud, or even manage a mirrored copy of the backup repository.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Controlled Backup

The suite also provides customers with an automated way to instantly verify VMware and Hyper-V VM backups: To do this, the NAKIVO software temporarily lets you boot a previously created VM backup. The resulting screenshot of the then running system helps to convince yourself of the consistency of the backup.

In addition, engineers have ensured that entire containers such as resource pools, folders, hosts, and clusters of important VMs are always kept up-to-date. All new VMs created in or moved to a container also receive this protection. The software automatically includes them in the list of VM backup and replication jobs.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Efficient Handling with NAKIVO and TrueNAS

Buying additional storage for backups has always been a problem for SMBs and enterprises alike. With existing hardware quickly becoming inadequate and obsolete, organizations are often forced to spend more on their storage resources each year.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication and TrueNAS offer a simple yet affordable solution to this problem: you can turn any hardware into a NAS-based backup appliance and use it for your data protection needs.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Modular Software

The NAKIVO suite consists of three important core components:

  1. Director
    It forms a central administration instance and provides the WebGUI for this purpose.
  2. Transporter
    This module is responsible for the processing and transmission of the data.
  3. backup repository
    Finally, NAKIVO saves its backups in the repository.

Director and Transporter run as services in the respective system. They can work in parallel on a single computer or be distributed over several computers.

However, the following always applies: components that work on different platforms are still compatible with each other. For example, Director and Transporter may be installed on a Windows server, and another Transporter may be installed on a NAS in a remote branch.

REQUEST a NAKIVO backup solution

Are you interested in
NAKIVO Backup & Replication?

Trusted partners


Why NAKIVO from Starline?

your benefits

Starline has stood for quality in the storage sector since 1982. We are at your side with our decades of experience in data storage and server systems.

Icon star

Financing Options

Starline is also a leasing partner for its customers.

Icon check

Free Consulting

You will receive skilled technical advice from Starline – by e-mail, telephone and, if required, via TeamViewer.

Icon tool

Comprehensive Project Support

Starline assists from the planning stage through to the implementation of the system.

Icon users

Large Stock

Starline maintains a high level of spare parts inventory and is therefore able to supply spare parts long after the warranty period has expired.

Icon umbrella

Wide range of products

We can offer you coherent alternatives in every storage category and are able to fulfill almost all product wishes.

Icon users

Independent provider

We are committed only to you – the customer – and therefore always offer the best solution for you.

Starline contact

Any questions? Please contact us.

In 2018, Bernd Widmaier celebrated his 25th anniversary with Starline. With great experience and broad knowledge – combined with high customer orientation – he heads our sales team. However, he also contributes plenty to sales himself and frequently represents Starline externally at events. The VFB fan has an excellent knowledge of various vertical markets, such as Mac, video storage and media streaming, which earns him the exhibition booth support at the IBC in Amsterdam every year.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication – VMs, Server, NAS und Cloud gut absichern

Die Allzweckwaffe zur Datensicherung

Das preiswerte Software-Paket NAKIVO Backup & Replication empfiehlt sich mit seiner Image-basierten Arbeitsweise sowie den anwendungsorientierten und inkrementellen Backups für alle wichtigen Einsatzszenarien. Dabei erfasst die NAKIVO-Suite nicht nur alle VM-Daten, sie gewährleistet gleichzeitig die Konsistenz von Anwendungen und Datenbanken, die in den VMs ausgeführt werden.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication kann sowohl auf einer virtuellen Maschine als auch einem physischen Server oder einem NAS-Gerät installiert werden. Die Lösung wurde dabei so konzipiert, dass sie die Rechenressourcen bezüglich CPU-Leistung und RAM-Kapazität optimal ausnutzt, um auch die höchste Leistung liefern zu können.

  • Virtuelle Maschinen
    VMware vSphere, Microsoft Hyper-V, Nutanix AHV
  • Physische Server und Workstations
    Windows & Linux
  • Cloud & SaaS
    AWS EC2, Microsoft Office 365
  • NAS-basierte Anwendungen
    für QNAP, Synology, ASUSTOR, TrueNAS, NETGEAR, Raspberry Pi und Western Digital

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Alles Einstellungssache

NAKIVO Backup & Replication bietet eine ganze Reihe von Schutzmechanismen für virtuelle Umgebungen, die in Kombination einen wahrhaft effektiven Schutz der wichtigen Daten darstellen: Die native Change-Tracking-Technologien wie beispielsweise VMware CBT oder Hyper-V RCT identifiziert geänderte Daten sofort. Deshalb werden nur geänderte Blöcke in das Backup-Repository kopiert. Dennoch lassen sich dafür bis zu 1.000 Wiederherstellungspunkte für jede VM-Sicherung anlegen, die in einem täglichen, wöchentlichen, monatlichen und jährlichen Turnus rotieren.

Zudem legt NAKIVO auf Wunsch Sicherungskopien Offsite und in der Cloud an. Schließlich können auch VM-Backups beschädigt, versehentlich gelöscht oder schlicht nicht mehr verfügbar sein. Mit Backup Copy Jobs lassen sich diese Backups zusätzlich sichern. Der Administrator kann über die Benutzerschnittstelle eine Backup-Kopie nach einem eigenen Zeitplan ausführen lassen, sie an eine Azure/AWS-Cloud senden oder auch eine gespiegelte Kopie des Backup-Repositorys verwalten.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Kontrollierte Sicherung

Die Suite bietet dem Kunden auch eine automatisierte Möglichkeit, VMware- und Hyper-V VM-Backups sofort zu überprüfen: Dazu lässt die NAKIVO-Software temporär ein vorher erstelltes VM-Backup booten. Der daraus generierte Screenshot des dann laufenden Systems hilft dabei, sich von der Konsistenz der Sicherung zu überzeugen.

Zudem haben die Ingenieure dafür gesorgt, dass ganze Container wie etwa Ressourcenpools, Ordner, Hosts und Cluster von wichtigen VMs immer aktuell gehalten werden. Diesen Schutz erhalten auch alle neuen VMs, die in einem Container angelegt oder in diesen verschoben wurden. Die Software nimmt sie automatisch in die Liste der VM-Backup- und Replikationsjobs auf.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Effiziente Handhabung mit NAKIVO und TrueNAS

Der Kauf von zusätzlichem Speicherplatz für Backups war schon immer ein Problem für KMUs und Unternehmen gleichermaßen. Da die vorhandene Hardware schnell unzureichend und veraltet ist, sind Unternehmen oft gezwungen, jedes Jahr mehr für ihre Speicherressourcen auszugeben.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication und TrueNAS bieten eine einfache und dennoch erschwingliche Lösung für dieses Problem: Sie können jede beliebige Hardware in eine NAS-basierte Backup-Appliance umwandeln und diese für Ihre Anforderungen zur Datensicherung einsetzen.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Modulare Software

Die NAKIVO-Suite besteht aus den drei wichtigen Kernkomponenten:

  1. Director
    Er bildet eine zentrale Verwaltungsinstanz und stellt dafür die WebGUI zur Verfügung.
  2. Transporter
    Dieses Modul ist für die Verarbeitung und Übertragung der Daten zuständig.
  3. Backup Repository
    Im Repository sichert NAKIVO schließlich seine Backups.

Director und Transporter laufen als Dienste dabei im jeweiligen System. Sie können parallel auf einem einzigen Rechner arbeiten oder auf mehrere Rechner verteilt sein.

Es gilt aber immer: Komponenten, die auf verschiedenen Plattformen arbeiten, sind dennoch miteinander kompatibel. So können beispielsweise Director und Transporter auf einem Windows-Server installiert sein und ein weiterer Transporter auf einem NAS in einer entfernten Filiale.

Eine NAKIVO Backup-Lösung ANFRAGEN

Haben Sie Interesse an
NAKIVO Backup & Replication?

Vertraute Partner


Warum NAKIVO von Starline?

Ihre Vorteile

Starline steht seit 1982 für Qualität im Storage-Bereich. Wir stehen Ihnen mit unserer jahrzehntelangen Erfahrung mit Datenspeicher- und Server-Systemen zur Seite.

Icon users

Großer Lagerbestand

Starline hält einen hohen Lagerbestand vor und kann deshalb auch Ersatzteile noch lange nach Ablauf der Garantiezeit liefern.

Icon check

Kostenlose Beratung

Sie erhalten bei Starline eine kompetente technische Beratung – per E-Mail, Telefon und bei Bedarf auch über TeamViewer.

Icon users

Unabhängiger Anbieter

Wir sind nur Ihnen – also dem Kunden gegenüber – verpflichtet und bieten daher immer die für Sie beste Lösung an.

Icon umbrella

Großes Warenspektrum

Wir können Ihnen in jeder Storage-Kategorie stimmige Alternativen anbieten und sind in der Lage fast alle Produkt-Wünsche zu erfüllen.

Icon star

Finanzierungsmodelle

Starline ist für seine Kunden auch Leasing-Partner. Profitieren Sie von der finanziellen Flexibilität und verkürzen so Ihre Innovationszyklen.

Icon tool

Umfassende Projektbegleitung

Starline hilft angefangen bei der Planung über die Umsetzung bis hin zur Implementierung des Systems.

Starline Kontakt

Noch Fragen? Kontaktieren Sie uns.

Der Vertriebsprofi Andreas Freisen hat schon sein 25-jähriges Betriebsjubiläum bei Starline hinter sich und war lange mit Vertriebsinnendienst und der Messebetreuung auf der Systems und der CeBIT betraut. In seiner jetzigen Funktion als Projektmanager in der Abteilung Enterprise Storage Solutions – unsere Business Unit für anspruchsvolle Großprojekte – berät der versierte Kollege zu den Themen Server- und Storage-Virtualisierung, Hochverfügbarkeitslösungen und Backup Systeme auf Basis von DataCore, Open-E, StorMagic, VMware und Veeam. Er organisiert zudem Workshops, hält Fachvorträge, erstellt Lehrgangsunterlagen und zeichnet die zur Dokumentation wichtigen Visio-Netzpläne.

Andreas Freisen
Vertrieb